The Perplexed Reader: Now here’s the thing I don’t understand.

TDIA: Can’t you see I’m busy?

The Perplexed Reader: Busy with what?  Watching Star Trek?

TDIA: It’s research for a project on the World Cup.

The Perplexed Reader: Right. 

TDIA: I’m not going to post this.  No one ever comes in here on Fridays.  They’re all too busy gearing up to get hammered at lunchtime or buying shoes online.

The Perplexed Reader: Well, as I was saying, the thing I don’t understand about this Deepshit Horizon.

TDIA: That’s “Deepwater.”

The Perplexed Reader: Whatever.  Same thing.  Anyway the thing I don’t understand is why they didn’t have an acoustic switch.  I read in the Wall Street Journal that

U.S. regulators don’t mandate use of the remote-control device on offshore rigs, and the Deepwater Horizon, hired by oil giant BP PLC, didn’t have one.”  

Why not?  Other countries require them.  It’s not like they’re poor!  I mean the thing only costs half a million.  You’d think even if it was a 50/50 chance of working it would be worth it?  Right?  I mean the bastards made over $6 billion in the first quarter of this year!

TDIA: Look I am really not going to post this.

The Perplexed Reader: But it’s an outrage!

TDIA: It is, it is.  But it’s a job for the regulators.

The Perplexed Reader: The regulators!  My arse!  They are only waiting to serve out their term by doing the minimum of regulating so they can go work for an oil company and help them get around even the paltry existing regulations.  It’s sociopathic on a vast scale. 

TDIA: Look.  I have to go out.  I don’t have milk.  You can shout at the cat if you like. [Exit]

The Perplexed Reader:  Hmmmmm. 

For want of a nail the shoe was lost.
For want of a shoe the horse was lost.
For want of a horse the rider was lost.
For want of a rider the battle was lost.
For want of a battle the kingdom was lost.
And all for the want of a horseshoe nail.

New post…..copy…paste…. preview…publish…[Click]

