TDIA: The DOW is down, The FTSE is down.  America’s Insolvent Giant is in trouble again and the Hedgeer Hemlien Index just passed 1430 and THAT is not good.  It is snowing outside and I think I just saw Rafaella Marconi ski down the street wearing nothing but a spandex bikini and a fur hat so I am taking the dog out for a walk!  You can keep this racket going.

 

The Curious Reader: Are you coming back?  [Door slams.  Silence.]

Ok so, I suppose I can go on with the letters of Col. Trevelyan Makeshift-Bastion.  [Puts kettle on.  Reads]

 

Day 68

Snowed in at Camp 5.  The chaps are getting very restless.  We tried to play a few games of billiards to keep our spirits up which was when I discovered that the damned silly Sherpa had brought me a nineteen and a half ounce cue instead of my twenty-one and a quarter.  Of course he had to be made an example of so we fed him to the dogs.  Can’t allow that sort of slovenliness.  It could easily jeopardize the entire mission.

Mulligan, the Irishman got a little obstreperous last night.  We found that he had been concealing a quarter bottle of whisky in his kitbag and had had a little too much to drink.  After conferring with Sergeant Burbage, we concluded that the best thing to do was to saw Mulligan’s hands off.  Cruel to be kind, the chap could use a little discipline, help make a man of him.  Tons of spirit of course but flighty and feckless which is, I suppose, not so much his fault as a man so much as an accident of origin.  Can’t be helped.

