Quoth the New York Times: “…And then on March 20 Random House announces that it has purchased the rights to a book by the blog’s founder, Christian Lander, an Internet copy writer. The price, according to a source familiar with the deal but not authorized to discuss the total, was about $300,000, a sum that many in the publishing and blogging communities believe is an astronomical amount for a book spawned from a blog, written by a previously unpublished author.”

“What is wrong with the universe? What is wrong with you people? Do you not have enough friends? Do you not know how to use a mouse and click?”

These questions have been posed by many of our staff at The Definitive Indefinite Article as they sit ungreatefully in our sumptuously appointed lunchroom and drinking their free mocha lattes. Some have even gone so far as to quote al Pacino in the movie Donnie Brasco: “Even a dog gets a warm piece of sidewalk to lie down on.” Admittedly most of these people were going to made “redundant” next week anyway. But the queston remains: What IS wrong with you people? Are the Articulists telling their friends about this? Do your friends not have computers? Where is OUR book deal?

The Attentive Reader: I just saw this now.  You hung it up on a Sunday!  You know I never come in her on Sunday unless I am shopping for wallpaper.

TDIA:  Are we supposed to feel guilty about that?

The Attentive Reader:  My main point is that I resent the implications: a) That I am not telling my friends about your blog; and b) That my friends do not own computers.

TDIA:  We had not thought you were so thin-skinned.

The Attentive Reader:   It is Monday and I lost  my keys.

TDIA:  We hope you find them and trust that this little disagreement will not discourage you from telling all your freinds about The Definitive Indefinte Article and encouraging them to follow its output with the same devotion and zeal as heretofore.

The Attentive Reader:  Do you mean I should tell my friends with the same devotion and zeal as I have heretofore used in telling them or tell them to follow with the same devotion and zeal that I myself have shown up to now?  You will admit that it could be read either way.

TDIA:  isn’t it time for…

The Attentive Reader:  …I have to go here’s me boss.

TDIA:  And Ctrl+Tab to you too.

